Danielle Degelman

Stay Motivated…We’re Almost Done!

Posted on: March 24, 2011

That’s right, you heard me! We’re almost done university! I have to be honest that now there’s only a couple weeks left of school, I am lacking motivation to finish my year-end projects (and don’t get me started on finals). What can I say? I’m exhausted. Moreover, all I can really think about is my life after university. Am I going to get the job? How long should I be on the sub list? Should I get my Master’s degree if I don’t get a job? Should I become a prof? These are questions that have been consuming my last few weeks of university…

But anyway, let’s get back to the “no motivation” part of this post. Believe me, I know how most of us feel about these last few weeks. Here are 15 tips to help you stay motivated when finishing those last-minute projects:

  1. FOCUS, FOCUS, FOCUS, FOCUS, FOCUS!!!
  2. Keep telling yourself, “It’s almost over!”
  3. Never doubt yourself and don’t be so negative about your workload.
  4. Plan your week ahead and stick to your schedule.
  5. Know your priorities. If your priority is to finish that unit plan or essay tomorrow, don’t stay up too late watching television.
  6. If you have a long list to complete for the weekend, break the work up into realistic chunks. However, don’t work ALL weekend. Find some time for yourself!
  7. Promise yourself a reward for completing a task. This does not include comfort food!
  8. Clean your room/office before you work. For most people, it’s hard to work in a cluttered space.
  9. Remove distractions from your working area. That’s right…NO Facebook or YouTube, NO cell phones, and NO television. (Sorry for sounding like your mom.)
  10. Listen to quiet music in the background if this helps you.
  11. During a break, go for a walk or run. This will keep the blood flowing and motivation running.
  12. Stay healthy by eating wholesome foods. Don’t forget to drink a lot of water, and have the occasional coffee if you need a boost.
  13. Get 8 hours of sleep per night (or more).
  14. Get up early to work. You will feel more refreshed and focused after a good sleep.
  15. Discipline yourself to stay with your work until it is finished.

Here are some resources that ANY university student will find helpful this time of year:

If you have any other ideas or resources to add to these lists, please do so. Hey, you might even help ME! 😉 GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!!!

2 Responses to "Stay Motivated…We’re Almost Done!"

Great tips! The distractions are the worst part!

Leave a Reply

"Let us think of education as the means of developing our greatest abilities, because in each of us there is a private hope and dream which, fulfilled, can be translated into benefit for everyone and greater strength of the nation." -- John F. Kennedy

My Calendar

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Who Has Visited?

